DrMusik

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Hello folks, a few of you may know me. I've been a member here now for two years. I've been laying below the radar. At first I perused this website for useful information then for deals on tanks. As a medical student I've had to be very judicious with my use of funds in a typically expensive hobby. I set up my first tank almost two years ago. It was a 10 gallon used tank I bought off craigslist. I bought liverock and lights off of this website and quickly had a small reef setup. It wasn't long before I went through algae breakouts and bristle worms taking over my tank (the liverock I bought was PACKED with them). I soon found myself buying a RO/DI set up and a tunze nano skimmer.

Having learned from my mistakes I set up 20 gallon long the next year. I bought this tank again used, this time from a member on this site and set up an odyssea 4 x 24 t-5 light. The tank has flourished since the get go. My only mistake I made was not cleaning out the tank well when I first bought it. I assumed that the water itself would make the residual gunk easier to clean off. Boy was I wrong and I?ve battled with razor blades and scuff pads every since but have never been able to truly get clean glass. There has been a small atipasia outbreak on one of my favorite live rocks. At first I controlled it by pasting over them with some epoxy I had left over but they?ve broken through. I plan on jumping on the next nudibranch sale or investing in some peppermint shrimp.