johncomp1

Active Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
hey everyone i have been reefing for about 3 years with ok success. i have recently decided the firs step would to improve my lighting. i have a ocianic 90 gallon bow front i had a simple t5 setup now I'm upgradeing to a duel 250w mh at 14000k and two antic t5's. i now feel that i should have got the 400w setup insted many say two 250w are more then plenty but i feel as deep as my tank is it may be a problem. I'm just looking for some advice/opinions thank you

johncomp1

Active Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
im not too sure on what il be buying soon i had some soft corals that seem to come to a stand still in growth my parmiters are pefect as i had them checked. i also would love to start adding some stony corals but i know it would be rather impossiable with a few t5's i just want to make sure that two 250w mh are sufficient on a 90g bow. thanx again

piranhapat

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Really don't understand what you want to do. I wouldn't get any MH lights at all. Do you want a reef tank? It doesn't matter if you want SPS tank. MH run too hot and you don't need them. You can with just T5 ATI bulbs. With a strip of LED lights added to lighting if cost of LED lights be to high. Do some research before buying. I have 90 gal running All SPS tank for a year. With 6 bulbs T5 with two strips of LED lights . I have good growth and nice color without the high bill and heat. I'm going all LED my next turn around. I would do it right the first time and then spend again. Long run it might be more money at first but you will save money if you do it right the first time. To many people think that the tank is to deep. Remember most reef tank you will have build it up with LR to about middle to tank.

Rating - 100%
87   0   0
Whenever I see the statement " my params are perfect, I had them checked " I'm always optimistic lol.