sjsoto

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
-IM NEW IN THE HOBBY, AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE TOP 5 SPS, RAREST/EXPENSIVE OF THEM ALL.

-ALSO IF ANYONE HERE HAVE KEPT THEM, AND WHAT WAS THE SUCCESS OF KEEPING THEM, STILL LIVING? OR DID IT DIE?

-WHAT ARE THEY SENSITIVE TO? AND WHAT CAN BE DONE TO MEET THEIR REQUIREMENT?

WOULD LIKE TO KNOW SINCE IM PLANNING ON STARTING AN SPS TANK BY END OF YEAR. DOING MY RESEARCH FROM NOW SO THAT I MAY BE SOMEWHAT KNOWLEDGEABLE WHEN I START.:eek:

DHaut

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
36   0   0
And if you want rare/expensive because you plan to grow it out and frag/sell it, by the time your SPS get big enough to frag, the fad will have passed and you'll be stuck with last year's pop coral. +1 to pratt - get coral that you find attractive and that increases the aesthetic of your tank.

Oh, and lay off the caps lock :)

DaddyReefer13

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
112   0   0
My recommendation is to buy corals that YOU like and find attractive and interesting. The rare/ expensive thing is largely marketing and nothing more.

I totally agree . . this is more of a "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" hobby. There are things that ppl are willing to pay an arm and a leg for but I personally don't like.

It is best to see tank displays and pics of frags to see what appeals to you and read up on it to see if you can meet its care requirements.

Good luck

Pinkheine

No More Room :-(
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Other than just getting the corals you like, are you planning on SPS only? There are a few members here that have mainly only SPS. I believe from reading here that most have calcium reactors and such to keep up with the consumption rate of the corals as dosing can become very expensive and problematic.