Rating - 100%
127   0   0
ok so this is my first attempt to do my own plumbing ..that being said dont laugh to much. all input is apreciated TIA

a sample of my sump

SUMPSAMPLE.jpg

the drain
100_0387.jpg

return
100_0388.jpg

D1J8Z

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
74   0   0
I highly doubt your ehiem is going to be able to run a chiller a phosban reactor and be a return for the tank.I am assuming the other one WC stands for water change?

Imbarrie

PADI Dive Inst
Rating - 100%
61   0   0
The one potential problem I see with your return is with your reactor TEE as it concerns your WC TEE.
Under normal operation you are feeding a constant feed to your tank with a slight amount going to your reactor. This will be adjusted to optimal flow based on the back-pressure of your tank return which is constant.
During a WC this back-pressure will change and so will your reactor feed. This means you are adjusting your reactor BV whenever you do a WC.
To minimize this adjustment, install a second BV immediately after the main reactor BV. Then you can leave your main reactor adjustment constant yet still isolate your reactor during a water change by closing the downstream BV.
I have also seen people with twoTEEs off their main reactor TEE. In case they add another reactor.

I hope I explained this well.

Last edited:

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
1 - The union at the top of your return, lower it to the bottom, then put a ball valve directly above it. This way you can service, or change your pump if needed.

2 - No reason to have a ball valve on your overflow.

3 - Also, no reason to have one let alone two unions on your overflow.

4 - The cap on your 'T' (overflow) is necessary. You'll need to drill a hole in it to regulate your overflow.

5 - I agree with Imbarrie

Don't forget to use primer on the pvc before you use the pvc glue.

Good luck
Russ

Rating - 100%
127   0   0