StrikeThree

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi - As some of you may have heard, a 14' Great White was reported to have "attacked" (yeah right) a small charter off the coast of Cape Cod. Its caused quite a stir around these parts. Here are some pics taken by a person on the boat - Im no expert, but does anyone think this looks like a Great White?? Im thinking Mako?? I figured there would be as many knowledgeable opinions here as anywhere. If you think it is a Great White, who wants to go out with me and bag that sucker! Photos are from www.boston.com

Brian

shark_gallery_1.jpg

shark_gallery_2.jpg

shark_gallery_3.jpg

shark_gallery_4.jpg

gazpep

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, I think it's a dolphin.

Funny thing, theres a news story down here of a fellow in South Australia who found a dead Right Whale floating off the coast yesterday and mounted its back and theres video footage of him cutting out it's jawbone with a chainsaw while in the background 3 huge Great Whites are biting great chunks of whale meat with their heads sticking out of the water. This bloke is balancing himself with the chainsaw only a matter of a couple of feet from the feeding Great Whites. One of the sharks is then seen alongside the boat and they estimate it at 18 foot long with a girth of over 4 feet. One mother of a shark...that bloke is crazy even thinking of getting near it.

StrikeThree

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have to admit it does look like a dolphin in all but the last picture - head looks a little too wide, but that could be optical distortion from the water. Anyone else ? I may email the Boston Globe reporter who wrote the article to check out this thread. That would be a great headline "Great White or Flipper???"

humu

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
just last month there was a greatwhite sighting on oahu. a spear fisherman saw it off the wainae coast and said it was 15'.