Orca1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
Hello all.

I would like to start out by saying that there are some amazing tanks on this site. I only hope my projects looks half as good as some of the tanks here!

I'm fairly new to the salt water aquarium world. I recently acquired a 120g (6') from a friend and decided to start off with a fish only tank, then graduate to a reef system. The tank is not reef ready and I'm looking for some advice on where to start (filtration/skimmers etc.).

I'm a very active fisherman and also planning on making this a native tank. I've been collecting fish (both native and tropical) since I was a very small child. I would be more than happy to share some of my experiences/techniques with the site's members as well as pick up a few tricks along the way. I would also like to make a few new friends that share my passion for the marine world.

Below is a pic of what I have to start with. The pic was taken about a week ago and the stand is nearly complete as of now.

.........Eric.

Attachments

• IMG_0049.jpg
    IMG_0049.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 136

Awibrandy

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
182   0   0
Welcome to our family Eric!

How about drilling the tank?

I have the same 120g which was drilled for drain and return which is great. And once the coral bug bites you'll need to upgrade your lighting, but for now those are fine..

Orca1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
I thought about drilling my tank a few times. I'm still up in the air about it. The last SW tank I had was when I was 13 and had a UG filter with a bubbler. I guess I wanted to keep things simple. In this case, I might be making things more complicated by not drilling it.

I'm open to suggestions about anything at this point. I'm in no rush and certainly want to set the tank up properly once. If that means I have to drill the tank then I'll drill the tank.

If I do decide to have the tank drilled, is this something that can be done in-house?