James

Zen-Reefer
Rating - 100%
112   0   0
Hi everyone, I've been lurking for a couple of days here and decided to post to introduce myself. My name is James and I'm a 29 year old middle school English teacher who lives in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn.

I started my first reeftank (nano, 10 gallon) back in 2000 and upgraded to a 26 gallon bowfront in 2002. I used to live in Albany (for college) and was active in the reefing community there, helped set up a big 300 gallon tank at RPI along with some guys I met over on Reefcentral. Over the years, I traded frags (just some pulsing xena, shrooms and frogspawn) and even participated in the first ever mushrooms by mail experiment on reefcentral (where people sent mushrooms in 35mm film canisters over priority mail all over the country) which was awesome. I always kept softies and LPS(open brain, frogspawn). Nothing major.

In 2005, I graduated with my masters and decided I needed to travel and experience the world. I bought a 1-way ticket to Central America (cheap) and traveled for almost 9 months , ending up on another continent in Bolivia by the time I bought the return ticket home. I had my tank at a friend's petstore and when I got home, my tank and lighting system were gone along with the store. Apparently he went out of business. I tried but could not get in touch with him. He wasn't a bad guy and am thinking if I can get in touch with him, I will find out what happened. It's been years since I tried, I think I will try again. Anyway, I've been out of the hobby since 2006 and am ready to jump back in.