• Background on Ben

Notice: THIS FORUM MAY CONTAIN MILD PROFANITY
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Haha, gotcha.

I'm not that important, except to my wife and kids, but I have been reefing for a long time. In fact, it has been how I make my living since the late 1990s. Yes, I have been a paid aquarist since grunge music was still being created. None of that means you should listen to me though. I just did that so you would get to HERE. Now that you are here, please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Ben Johnson and I'm an aquaholic. My first fully pet related job was a place in Denton, Texas called Fish N Chirps Pet Center where I started off as a salesmen for everything BUT saltwater stuff, which I had zero clue about, because I couldn't afford it. I could not stay away from that part of the store and would read every book and magazine that had to do with saltwater aquariums I could get my hands on. Everything I read and heard stuck in my brain like it was supposed to be there; fish and coral Latin names, author's names, chemical names and equipment brands. I was just like a sponge and took it all in. The hobby was a little less complicated then but was going through a bit of a renaissance because of two books, at least from my perspective. Sprung and Delbeek's book, The Reef Aquarium and Fossa and Nielsen's book, The Modern Coral Reef Aquarium. Honestly, I had to read them both several times in a row before the info was allowed to permeate my thick skull, but I was bound and determined to learn. There really wasn't an internet per se for me at that point so I would have to read and talk to other humans in order to learn...shudder. It was slow going back then as compared to now but knowledge is attainable if you want it badly enough.