Manhattan Reefs

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Market Chat Stores Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2019, 08:00 AM
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (0)
Send a Private Message
Question Any Suggestions??

Hello all,

I am new to this hobby and looking to advance myself, I have the biocube 32 but looking to advance myself. Does anyone recommend a good book to read to help me establish good knowledge and skills ?

Thank you ...
Old 05-02-2019, 09:38 AM
Reefer Ratings: (3 (100%)
Friends: (10)
Send a Private Message
Plenty of free information and articles on the internet. If you haven't set anything up yet even better. The absolute first thing you should do is learn about what your getting into before even putting water in the tank.

Familiarize yourself with water chemistry, its gonna be the foundation of your success. Research the different types of saltwater aquariums that people keep and look into different types of equipment for what your planning on keeping. I would go ahead and gather all the basic equipment you'll need too...ahead of time just to prepare yourself. Advanced aquarist is a pretty good site, as well as reef keeping magazine. If you come across something that you cant find an answer to online...just ask. I'm sure someone has experienced the same problem and can offer some advice.