fishman1069

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
40   0   0
Ok a little background info first. My family and I moved to Florida last spring. I walked right into a plumbing job with my brother in law, which worked out great for a while. About 4 months ago, the business closed its doors over the weekend without telling anyone! They even bounced everbodies last check! Since then, I've been having a really hard time finding work. I've applied to at least 30 different jobs ranging from plumbing jobs to supermarkets!! My biggest problem is I have no car atm and all my resouces are gone.
So I get a call from a job that I emailed off of craigslist. Its pre fabbed steel building job, which I have several years experience in. The kicker is that its a traveling job and I would have to leave my family for a month at a time. Now I know there are pleanty of parents that do this, such as military personnel and traveling salesman, but I have never left my kids or wife for more than a day:sad2:. Im having a real hard time making this decision. Of course my wife dosent want me to take the job but the way I see it, I have no choice. I have to support my family. This is a well paying job and it could mean alot better days down the road.
Obviously I'm not asking anyone to make this decision for me but I would like to know from people with experience traveling for work. How to you cope with leaving your family for long streatches? How am I suppose to tell my wife that this is the best option for our family right now? Oh and did I mention I'd be working in the bahamas?! How the hell do I tell my wife that she has to stay home and take care of 3 young kids (son is 7, daughter is 3 and our newborn daughter is 2 months) by herself while I go to the bahamas for a month to work?!
Sorry for rambling but I suck at writing and I wanted to make sure I mention all the details. Please advize

saltwaterinbrooklyn

Pro hobby anti profit!
Rating - 100%
132   0   0