Manhattan Reefs
 

Welcome to Manhattan Reefs, the premier website for coral reef aquarium owners in the New York City area.

You are not currently logged in to our site so you may not be able to access all of the wonderful content and features that we offer. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

User Name
Password
   Home Forums Market Photo Gallery Chat Reef Database Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read About MR


Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2017, 04:49 PM
#1
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: westchester
Posts: 113
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (5)
RickRude is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Acros No nitrate or phosphate dying corals

So Hello -

I have a tank I set up 2 years ago and it has been one headache to another from the start. I have never had any issues with sps or lps even when I used to make water in a bathtub mix the salt in and pour it in my tank.

Now I use RO DI, I ran Pellets for a year and tried all manners of high end gadgets coming up with crappy results. I have tried aminos also.

CA 420
Alk 8.3
MG 1500
Salinity 1.026
PHOS/NT both 0

I stopped skimming all together and am Running only chaeto with a grow light. I have half of my sps doing ok the other half brown and dying or bleached looking and dying. I have 4 ecotech radion g4 pros over a 90 runnnig at 60% max 1-10 hour ramp each way on coral lab preset for phoenix.

ANY SUGGESTIONS? I no longer run pellets for several months and stopped skimming a month ago I stepped up feeding thinking I needed to pull nitrate and phos up off of zero.

I NEVER had these issues in my old tank run all traditional - skimmer and t5.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 05:18 PM
#2
Senior Member
Chefjpaul's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 737
Reefer Ratings: (23 (100%)
Friends: (2)
Chefjpaul is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Corals probably starving.
Mayve try dosing no3 & po4

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 05:29 PM
#3
vio
Senior Member
vio's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 3,053
Reefer Ratings: (66 (99%)
Friends: (59)
vio is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
May be the light change ?!
"I have 4 ecotech radion g4 pros over a 90 runnnig at 60% max 1-10 hour ramp "
Before you got T5 .
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 06:25 PM
#4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: westchester
Posts: 113
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (5)
RickRude is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chefjpaul View Post
Corals probably starving.
Mayve try dosing no3 & po4

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Yea I am thinking this but I stopped skimming all together for about a month and nothing has risen!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 09:55 PM
#5
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 154
Reefer Ratings: (2 (100%)
Friends: (1)
Hove75 is online now View My Gallery Send a Private Message
I also use cheato and zero on everything but i feed mysis twice a day heavey and mysis is high in pos and my corals are doing great try feeding thing high is pos and see if that works

Last edited by Hove75; 12-23-2017 at 09:57 PM..
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 10:54 PM
#6
Senior Member
Chefjpaul's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 737
Reefer Ratings: (23 (100%)
Friends: (2)
Chefjpaul is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
The reason I like to dose is consistency for a trial and error, there is no guessing.

Feeding heavy is dependent upon the animals and consumption, rotten foods etc can become fluctuating, while dosing using a calculator can be more accurate.

This accuracy can help find a level you like to maintain in the particular aquarium for whatever reason. Then find away to maintain there using methods suitable for that tank then, be it keep dosing, finding the proper amount of livestock vs filtration vs export etc. Just easy to get that base IMO

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 08:55 PM
#7
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: westchester
Posts: 113
Reefer Ratings: (0 (0%)
Friends: (5)
RickRude is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
what do you use to dose them?
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 11:39 AM
#8
Senior Member
piranhapat's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Westchester, N.Y
Posts: 2,276
Reefer Ratings: (3 (100%)
Friends: (7)
piranhapat is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
This will help. It works when you have no nitrates. Otherwise they mixes review. It work for me in a new tank set up.
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/3...3468+2190+3250

Last edited by piranhapat; 01-04-2018 at 11:46 AM..
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 01:47 PM
#9
MemBiZzLe.
noelskii's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: BrOnx
Posts: 3,020
Reefer Ratings: (37 (97%)
Friends: (35)
noelskii is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
My nitrates and phosphates are off the charts (literally) but my livestock are all doing well. Let's swap water!
__________________
reef reef

<-click


Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
reefer4eva's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glendale,Queens.
Posts: 3,061
Reefer Ratings: (77 (100%)
Friends: (47)
reefer4eva is offline View My Gallery Send a Private Message
I had the same problems In the past with zero nitrates and phosphates...i been using Seachem flourish nitrogen
Which is meant for planted freshwater tanks and had been working miracles for getting my nitrates up..
Judge for yourself from the pic I provided
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Reef addicts ..served 25 to life
https://www.manhattanreefs.com/forum/...60-cube-7.html
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes