Ninja

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some of you may know me from RC and if you do not, I am Ninja. I have a build thread on RC but didn't realize how many locals from LI and Manhattan were on here.

I'm new to reefing but I'm determined to build a balanced mix-reef tank with a stable ecosystem. First let me say that there is so much to learn but I've been able to make quick progress on my down time. I'm surprised with my DIY skills since I won't have an unlimited budget but so far I have gotten some decent feedback.

My goals are to establish a spacious, energy efficient and quality tank. I plan on keeping anemones, lps and gradually more sps. The main thing that I wanted to focus on was water filtration (flow) and open aquascaping. Energy efficiency is important so I have been thinking of ways to help me keep the overall setup efficient.

At first I really wanted to go with a Rimless 6' tank with a very contemporary style but I made somewhat of a 360deg turn. I'm working with a new 80 gallon RR tank with corner a overflow. I intend on doing Live Sand and Live Rock to help with the filtration and pickup some good critters along the way.

I actually did a DIY stand before I got the tank and kept the design similar to our family house. 80 gallons is quite large enough for me for now So what is a thread w/out pics huh? Here is my DIY stand- I was quite pleased with the stability and final look.
I worked on it alone and with very limited tools- here she is:

0d670952.jpg

7b499d6d.jpg

IMG_0987.jpg

IMG_1004.jpg

Sump: Trigger Systems Ruby36S
I liked the oversized design and based on what I've read, hopefully it will lower the production of micro-bubbles and give me a nice sized fuge. The great thing about the DIY stand is that you control the spacing below the DT.

Skimmer: Super Octopus 2000