So I work as a lifeguard at this local beach here in New Rochelle and there are starfish, hermit crabs, and whole bunch of other crabs. It's LI Sound water so I was wondering if it would be bad to put any of those little animals in my fish tank, I wouldn't put them in my display except maybe the hermint crabs if I could find out if they were reef safe some how lol. Well give me some feedback on this! lol. Thanks everyone!

Cool...now I have an endless supply of hermits lol, their shell is usually covered in a lot of crap so would it be safe to use a toothbrush to clean them off and to do it in freshwater for a couple of seconds just to make sure there's nothing malicious in them/on them. And what about snails from the same place? Are those safe too? And can I use the same cleaning procedure on them? I ask too many questions LOL. Thanks for all the feedback so far

daisy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
19   0   0
I like the concept that if you find it on a reef that is like the reef you're making at home, then chances are greater at least that it might survive in your tank - whether or not it would eat or otherwise destroy what's in your tank (and what you actually paid for) is another question entirely!

Paul B

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
28   0   0