• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

egriesner

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
45   0   0
Hi All,

I am new to Manhattan Reefs and new to saltwater aquariums. I've had successful freshwater tanks for years and have finally decided to take the plunge. I understand nanos are much harder to keep than larger aquariums but I am up for the challenge! I plan on posting pics on my tanks progress as I start my journey.

Heres my set up so far:

Hardware
Fluval Edge 12 gallon w/ stock filter and lights
Aqueon Pro Heater 50 - 50W
Koralia Nano 240 - 3.5W - 240 gph

Inside
12 lbs. tukani live rock cured
15 lbs. live sand
I also filled the tank with Nutri-seawater
I have not stocked the tank with anything yet but it has been up and running since 9/27/12. I will post pictures tonight. A couple of thoughts:

1) Can anyone give me advice on live rock placement. I am having alot of trouble with the live rock. Everytime I try and aquascape the tank gets so cloudy that I cant see what I am doing.

2) I would like to put together a tank that is relatively easy to manage. I plan on doing a 30% water change per week. Any recommendations?

3) Can anyone recommend what type of fish and coral to put in this tank? Right now I am thinking:

1x Orange clown
1x Black clown
1x Royal Gramma
1x Peppermint shrimp
1x tiger pistol shrimp
1x yellow watchman goby
& Clean up crew

Any Suggestions?

4) At what point can I start to put coral in the tank? What type of coral are hardy and will they work with my stock led lights? Please recommend corals!

Thanks Guys! I look forward to your feedback.

Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Hey there,