Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the site, I have been reefing for about 7 years now. I started with a nano reef and after trial and error, lots of losses, and lots of reading I finally have seen steady growth and now it is time to upgrade.

I started out with a smaller tank because I heard it was harder to take care and also because I moved a lot. I originally started my nano bio reef in college at Xavier in Cincinnati Ohio. Then moved to KY, and then I actually moved it all the way to NYC with me, and for the most part, everything survived.

I am planning on starting a 65 gallon reef now and transfer everything from my nano. I have been on the fence back and forth trying to figure out which lights to get to use.

I have been looking at these AQUAMANA lights on Amazon

www(dot)amazon(dot)com/AQUAMANA-LED-55x3W-Dimmable-Aquarium-Light/dp/B00LV2D07Q Only thing is that they are rated at 165W but only use 120W.

they are at a good price point and they seem ok. But I am unsure if they are powerful enough for SPS?

I have about 34 inches in length to work with on the lights. I have a canopy on top with maybe 6 inches to work with on depth and about 16 - 18 inches on width.

I don't want to spend tons of money on brand new top of the line, brand name equipment because just like everything else out there, there are products that are similar and will get the job done minus all the bells and whistles.

Can someone help me decide whether or not to use MH, T5, or LED? Or a combination there of? I want to grow SPS at a reasonable price within those dimensions above to fit on the canopy.

I could also use a little bit of explaining to help me understand the value of a chiller with MH lights. Some of the chillers are super expensive!

Please help me with lighting ideas and links to where I can purchase.

Thank you!

MACH5

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
89   0   0