fishless

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Manhattan Reefers. My name is Mary. I'm a MR newb, but I have 21 years on and off in the hobby. I grew up in So Cal, and about four months ago I started my first saltwater tank since moving to NYC. I LOVE this tank. And yet... tomorrow I'll be upgrading.

From this:

IM Nuvo 38

To this:

Cad Lights 50g Artisan II Cube, with Custom King sump

Anyway, you guys have probably experienced this too, but preparing to tear down the Nuvo 38 is making me a little sad. I've worked hard on it and it's barely had a chance to get going. Thought I'd share a little bit about it before it's gone.

My Nuvo 38

Total water volume: 27 gallons(!)
Rock: BRS dry pukani and fiji, number of pounds unknown
Sand: ~20 pounds of dry aragonite

Temp: a solid 79
Salt: 1.025
Ph: 8.05-8.15
Alk, Mag, Cal: within range
Phos: <.05
Nitrate: 2-5 ppm, still settling. Also, I feed too much. My fish are very manipulative.

Livestock: LPS, SPS, Rics, Zoas, Davinci Clowns, Midas Blenny, 4 crabs, many snails. Also, green algae.

Mods, Adds, and Upgrades:

IM Spin Streams
MP10
InTank media basket with floss, sponge, and/or polyfilter
Tunze 9004 skimmer
RKL with Ph Probe
Tunze Nano ATO
BRS carbon/gfo reactor
Maxspect Razor 120w

Some of my favorite things:

This Midas Blenny named Banana

This Trachyphyllia that's been eating all my snails

And this Electric Blue Legs Hermit crab that is ALWAYS perching on my corals

Anyway, I guess that's that. I'll post a little tomorrow on how the switch is going. Thanks for reading.

ECFENCING

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
96   0   0
Great looking setup....and good luck with the tank.

I'm upgrading from a similar sized tank to a 50 cube..(Elos midi (approx 35 gallons) to a custom 50 cube with external overflow built by Mark at reefomania).

Last edited:

fishless

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aww, thanks guys. Happy to be here. :)