Pootie

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Lol, hi guys!

my name is Jonathan and i am new here. I live in Midtown Manhattan and i have always had Freshwater tanks that have done very well. (maybe because it's easy to maintain).

Last year my wife wanted a tank in our new apartment. I figured "what the heck why not try a saltwater tank" .<~ Big mistake!:headache:
Well i quickly learned that i am a total noob when it comes to Saltwater. and now i need a lil help!!

The Tank & Plans: 55g long with plans of having a semi-reef with a few compatable fish that won't outgrow the tank yet still be intresting.
what was done (i spent X amount of $ on tank and supplies)
*55 gallon long
*50lbs of Reef Crystals Sea Salt Mix
*Instant Ocean hydrometer
*(2) power heads
*Eheim Pro 2 (wet/dry)
*40lbs sand substrate mixed with about 40lbs Live Sand from a friend's tank that was sifted and partially washed.
*heater,lighting,water conditioner,test kits etc
I then placed the sand in with a plastic bag overtop(as sugested by a friend) and begain to fill the tank with tap water.

Well i filled the tank with tap water and mixed in a few cap fulls of Stresscoat to condition the water. ( once the tank was about 3/4 full). Then mix a 5g bucket with warm water and mixed in the salt mix and gradually added to the tank checking with the hydrometer about ever gallon added or so. Till it was good salinity as the hydromoter said.

The tank sat for about 2 months b4 i got about 50lbs of liverock

Then sat for another 3 weeks ( then i added a few cultured rock pieces)

Then came what i figured would be the fun part, Fish timeee!! ( i got a 3 spot Damzle as a test fish..it didn't die).. so i got a few more fish, some crabs and 2 cleaner shrimp.. and then the die-off started

Weird part: both my Porcelian Crab dropped their claws within an hour of entering the tank (and i dripped the bag with small amounts of the tank water b4 letting them in and they seemed good in the bag )..