sroot17

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
47   0   0
Hello everyone.

I am new to the hobby and have started to dive right in with a 50g tank. My original plans were to go FOWLR but after months of research and reading the boards I've decided to try my luck with a reef setup.

<o></o>
So far I have:
50g 36x18x18 tank
CPR aeroforce skimmer
TLF phosband reactor with live carbon media
1 Koralia 1050 PH
200w heater
Wave Point T5 HO light 156w
5lbs base rock
56lbs LR (50 fiji, 6 marshall island)

<o></o>
I have had the tank setup and running for just about 3 weeks so far. I am using tap water currently treated with Marine stress coat. I plan on purchasing and RO/DI unit soon and hope I can find the room for it in my Manhattan apartment!
<o></o>
I did have a piece of shrimp in the tank to help get the cycle moving but removed it after a week due to the smell being so bad.
<o></o>
My last few readings were as follows:
6/12
Ammonia - 0
Nitrites - 0
Nitrates - 0

<o></o>
6/18
Ammonia - .5
Nitrites - 2
Nitrates - 20

<o></o>
6/20/10
Amm .25
Nitrite 2
Nitrate - 80

6/22/10

Amm 0-.25 (hard to tell but very close to zero)
Nitrite - .25
Nitrate – 80

<o></o>
Over the past few weeks I have made a couple of attempts at aquascaping. I get my substrate today and can’t wait to get that in and start finalizing the layout! Here are some pictures so far.

IMG_0511.jpg

IMG_0590.jpg

IMG_0592.jpg

masterswimmer

Old School Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 99.6%
448   2   0
Scott, nice start. Glad to see you've got your tank thread started here on MR.

Curious, what is that in the filter bag?

What type of sand did you pick up? When you add it, if you can get a piece of 2" pvc pipe about 20" long, pour the sand SLOWLY into the pipe, you'll be able to add sand without a sandstorm.