jaa1456

MR's Greatest Member
Rating - 100%
50   0   0
I had the pleseant surprise of my ball joint snapping on my Lincoln today. The surprise part is because all 4 were replaced in April, way before they were due to be replaced. Now 8,000 miles later one snapped went through the rim and took out the brake line and cracked the caliper on that side. And that was at 10 miles an hour. I had to get the car towed and Ford/Lincoln said "that sucks, gonna be 2 grand to fix." Yea I don't think so check your records you replaced it with a new one in April. Sorry Ford but you are picking up this tab.

NYPDFrogman

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
35   0   0
Ford Motor corp helped me pay for my divorce.
I worked part time for a transmission shop as a rebuilder I cant tell you how many ford transmissions I rebuilt E40OD, AXOD, A4LD and AOD all equal money! You will never see me drive a ford
MOPAR or NO Car!

motortrendz

Mainland Aquatics
Vendor
Rating - 100%
82   0   0
im a chrysler tech, but i only drive fords.. how many miles were on your lincoln? ball joint isues are common on them expecially on air ride cars.. a few things can caise the ball joints to fail early, worn lower control arm bushings, bad shocks on and alignments that are too positive on the camber.. which causes the balljoint to hyper extend on recoil.. if they were just done, where did you have the job done, bc there is a new aftermarket warehouse company out here in our area which was not selling motorcraft, or moog suspension parts.. and if they were the 30$ bjs they are known to fail in 4-15k miles from install, where as the factory or moog parts are good for 30-60k..and if you didnt have the job done yet, i can do it.. and save you alot.. or if your gonna have ford reimburse you ill do it for full price and give you a kickback.. so you can spend it on MR of course... lol